Wednesday, 9 December 2015

Wednesday, 9 December 2015

A new region of South Western France

Aquitaine / Limousin / Poitou-Charentes is the new region of South Western France, created by the territorial reform of French Regions in 2014 via the merger of Aquitaine, Limousin, and Poitou-Charentes regions.

It will now encompass 84,061 km2 (32,456 sq miles), or put another way 1/7th of the country - and will have 5.8 M inhabitants.

The new region will be the largest region in France, with an area roughly equal of Austria. Its largest city, Bordeaux, together with its suburbs and satellite cities, forms the 7th Metropolitan area of France, with 850,000 inhabitants.

The region has many urban areas among which the most important are, apart from Bordeaux and its 1,140,000 inhabitants, Bayonne and Limoges (each having 283,000 inhabitants), Poitiers (255 000), Pau (241 000) and La Rochelle (206 000).

Apart from the Ile-de-France, Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes is the first French region in research and innovation, with its 5 universities (Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Limoges, Poitiers & Pau).
The premier agricultural region of Europe in terms of turnover, it will also be the 1st French region in terms of tourism jobs, & the 5th region in terms of business creation (all sectors).

Its economy is based strongly upon agriculture and viticulture (vineyards of Bordeaux and Cognac are of course Internationally famed), on tourism, on a successful aerospace industry, chemical and pharmaceutical industries, plus a financial sector (Niort specialices in mutual insurance companies) and a world renowned ceramics industry (Limoges).

Fact & Figures

Aquitaine Limousin Poitou Charentes
Gironde 1,483,000 Haute Vienne 371,000 Charente Maritime 605,000
Pyrénées Atlantique 660,000 Corrèze 242,000 Vienne 422,000
Dordogne 416,000 Creuse 123,000 Deux Sèvres 363,000
Landes 392,000 Charente 350,000
Lot & Garonne 332,000
 Coastline 720 Km

Filed Under: , , , , , ,


Post a comment